RL Poetry Award 2017

The RL POETRY AWARD 2017 was open to both Indian poets and poets of other nationalities. Unlike its past editions, RL POETRY AWARD 2017  solicited poetry manuscripts from poets whose first poetry book was due or authored a single book from a small, independent presses. The award attracted 117 manuscripts.

The 12 award finalists of the RL POETRY AWARD 2017 were selected by the poet, founder & editor-in-chief, Linda Ashok in both the national (6) & international (6) categories. Due exceptional quality of submissions received, the RL POETRY AWARD 2017 have got 3 poets whose first manuscripts will be published by RLFPA Editions. 

We are grateful to our poetry communities (individuals & institutions) in India and abroad for publishing/distributing/sharing our call for submissions. We are much thankful to Commonwealth Writers, Griffin Poetry, Asymptote Journal, The Single Story FDN and everyone who made this edition a success!



Robert Archambeau is a poet and literary critic whose works include the books Home and Variations, Laureates and Heretics: Six Careers in American Poetry, The Poet Resigns: Poetry in a Difficult World, The Kafka Sutra and Inventions of a Barbarous Age: Poetry from Conceptualism to Rhyme. He has also edited a number of works, including Word Play Place: Essays on the Poetry of John Matthias, The &NOW Awards: The Best Innovative Writing, and Letters of Blood: English Writings of Göran Printz-Påhlson. Along with John Matthias he is the co-author of Revolutions: A Collaboration, a collection of prose and poetry with images by the artist Jean Dibble.  His work has also appeared in such journals as Poetry, Hudson Review, Boston Review, Cambridge Literary Review, Essays and Criticism, Chicago Review, and many others.

Son of the Canadian ceramic artist of the same name, Robert Archambeau teaches English as a Professor at Lake Forest College near Chicago. His recent work explores the social context of the history of poetics: he has been called “our smartest poetic sociologist” in the scholarly journal Contemporary Literature.

He has received grants and awards from the Academy of American Poets, the Illinois Arts Council, and the Swedish Academy, among others, and serves as the criticism editor at MadHat Press and on the editorial staff of Plume magazine.

Along with R.S. Gwynn he chairs the Poets’ Prize committee

Aryanil Mukherjee writes in both Bangla and English. Published widely in Bengali & American poetry circles, he has authored ten books of poetry and essays on poetics in two languages. Engaged in bi-directional translation of poetry between English and Bangla, Aryanil has translated scores of international poets on both hemispheres including a book-length translation project on John Ashbery conducted with resource support from The Ashbery Resource Center at Bard College, New York. He received the Subhas Mukhopadhyay Memorial Award for his contribution to Bengali poetry in 2007.

Aryanil’s English work features in Lantern Review, PennSound, Asian Cha, Rain Taxi, Jacket, Drunken Boat, Big Bridge etc. and in El Invisible Anillo in Spanish. Anthology appearances include: The HarperCollins Book of Indian Poetry in English (2011), La Pared de Agua, a Spanish anthology of contemporary Bengali poetry (Olifante Press, Madrid 2011), Indivisible: An Anthology of South Asian American Poetry (University of Arkansas Press, 2010), The Literary Review Indian Poetry (New Jersey: Fairleigh Dickinson University, 2009). His poetry has been translated into Hindi, Spanish and Danish and has been discussed in the Best American Poetry blog.

Winners & Finalists
  1. Soonest Nathaniel - Winner
  2. Diane Awerbuck - Finalist
  3. Samuel Ugbechie - Finalist
  4. V. Naa. Takia - Finalist
  5. Uchenna Ekerenmadu- Finalist
  6. Danny Earl Simmons - Finalist
  1. Preeti Vangani - Winner
  2. Shalim Hussain - Highly Commended/Editor's Choice
  3. Anannya Dasgupta - Finalist
  4. Sanika Dhakephalkar - Finalist
  5. Avani Tandon Viera - Finalist
  6. Jhilmil Breckenridge – Finalist